Common Ringlet (Coenonympha tullia/Coenonympha california)?

I’m new to iNaturalist, and not an expert scientist, but trying to learn some of the things I see in nature.
I was scrolling through observations in my area (New Hampshire, USA) and saw a post of an unknown species which I believed to be common ringlet. I went to suggest the ID, but saw the Latin name in iNaturalist for common ringlet is listed as Coenonympha california.
That didn’t seem right, so I checked my Kaufman Field Guide to Butterflies of North America and that only has two species of Coenonympha – tullia or haydenii. Since tullia is listed as the “Common ringlet” I was about to suggest that as an ID, but iNaturalist calls it the Large Heath. So I thought that could be right, because I understand common names have a lot of variation regionally, but when I checked the species it only showed a scattering of IDs in Alaska and Europe, and none in the mainland U.S.
BugGuide also only uses tullia and heydenii, with the rest listed as subspecies. So now I’m confused about how to identify a Common Ringlet that is found in the Northeast US.
The species page for Coenonympha california shows IDs stretching from the West Coast to the East, but I’m wondering if that’s right. And identifying it as tullia makes it seem like a big aberration from the rest of the observations.

1 Like

I’m not a butterfly expert by any means, so take it with a grain of salt, but here’s what I can find.

It looks like there’s been some controversy over the correct name for this species. Most sources list it as “Coenonympha tullia ssp california”, and it looks like iNat itself has changed between that name and C california a couple of times: https://www.inaturalist.org/taxon_changes?taxon_id=69145

There’s a flag about it on the species page suggesting it be changed back: https://www.inaturalist.org/flags/575048

This is the study that seems to have caused the current name choice:
https://lepsurvey.carolinanature.com/ttr/ttr-8-7.pdf