Concrete sanitation

Hi! Yes, weird question, I know.

But I am attempting to culture epiphytic cryptogams for iNat purposes and have acquired some rough-textured concrete for the task. And, well, it’s rather dirty. How would I best sanitize it besides water? I’ve considered soaking it in isopropyl alcohol but am worried that it will chemically react and cause cryptogam-harming chemicals to leach out; unfortunately I am not a chemist and could not find any information on whether the two react.

I don’t remember a whole lot of college chemistry, and I have zero experience with culturing non-vascular plants or lichens. But… if you feel it’s necessary to sanitize your substrate, then it would seem that isopropyl alcohol (aka isopropanol or IPA) might be one reasonable approach.

IPA is a volatile organic solvent and AFAIK isn’t likely to react a lot with any of the cement components in concrete. In fact, here’s a paper that examines using IPA to dry small concrete samples in preparation for microscopy and similar analysis.

My concern with using IPA to sanitize concrete lumps larger than a pebble would be that it could take a very long time for the absorbed IPA to fully evaporate. If you started growing your cryptogams while IPA was still being released from the interior of the block, most likely you would kill the organisms you’re trying to grow.

An alternative might be to heat your blocks in order to sterilize them. I have no experience with heat sterilization, but based on soil sterilization guidance it seems that heating them to about 180 C for at least 30 mins would be recommended. Higher temperatures have a risk of creating phytotoxic compounds. You could sterilize your blocks on an old baking sheet in a kitchen oven. Use an oven thermometer to be sure you’re getting the temperature you need and increase the time sufficiently for the heat to penetrate the center of thicker blocks.