Correct focussing with the Olympus TG-6 in microscope mode

After the many positive comments about it here in the forum, I recently bought a Olympus TG-6 to expand the lacking macro capability of my DLSR setup (I hate changing lenses in the field…).
This weekend, I had my first extensive test run with it mushrooming in the woods using microscope mode to capture those tiny mushrooms. :mushroom:

While some pictures got really beautiful in terms of focus, when trying to photograph the lamelles/ underside of the mushrooms or really tiny mushrooms or mushrooms against a busy leaf background, the AF was often a hit and miss since it doesn’t seem to love brown mushrooms in brown leaves :sweat_smile:.
My guess this problem is because I am really new to the camera and its functions (and completely lost in the manual) and more used to a different manual AF system coming from the DLSR.

So any good life hacks from other (experienced) TG-6 users: how do you get the camera to focus really close up (that sweet spot before 1 cm), especially in difficult light and motive situations? What camera settings do you use and what are other tricks? :camera:

1 Like

Holding a brightly coloured object, leaf, etc. on the level of the object you want to photograph may be a good tip. I used this camera a lot.

I found it a lot better at AF when I (a) used microscope mode specifically (b) zoomed in a bit instead of getting super close.

5 Likes
  1. When the AF can’t find your subject, and is focusing only farther away, point it at your hand very closeup so that the background is blocked out. After it focuses on your hand, point it back at your subject and try the AF again. Once the camera focuses on something very close, the next time you try to focus it starts out searching in the closer range before searching farther back.