Where to bring my many newbie questions about Olympus Tough (TG-7)?

For years I’ve been taking nature photos (just for fun) with a smartphone while kayaking or hiking. Now that I’m starting to get more systematic about learning and cataloging I broke down and got an Olympus TG-7. But I’m finding the learning curve to be super-steep, ironically getting most confused on the interaction of the basic settings with the programmed functions that are supposed to help non-photographers like me. For one example, the product manual tells me things like how to set the AF area – but not which selection is best for which purpose, or whether the programmed modes override that selection (or others). My photos have been pretty awful, even on full auto mode or when I choose the corresponding “scene.”

My question for now is whether anyone has a suggestion for tutorials that may fit this sort of need, and/or (maybe better!) a board or group where I could ask total newbie questions that are also specific to this line of cameras. I know the very basics of photo terminology (my spouse has a Nikon that I’ve used occasionally) but things like the Olympus camera Reddit are waaaay beyond me. And though I’ve seen specific questions here, I have so many – many of them so basic! – that I don’t think this is the right place for them.

Suggestions welcome! Thank you.

There are many YouTube videos that might help -https://youtu.be/sgLekoODb3M?si=_8KwV_ODC7xVwG3F

The TG6 is very similar. Just be aware that at certain zoom settings there can be some nasty purple flare in the center of the image.

It’s very good for macro focus stacking though.

2 Likes

@sc_beetles , thanks! I agree, TG-6 resources also welcome and there are sure to be more of them.

Lisa

I like my purchase, and would buy it again, but want to share three experiences with my TG-6 after one year of testing, that I found the most annoying. All address the macro function, and I guess they would be similar or identical for the TG-7