Cotton vs Polyester Sheets; Which is Better for Mothing?

Hey everyone,

I’m curious to hear people’s input on whether they think using a cotton sheet is better or worse than using a polyester sheet for mothing. I’ve been using a polyester sheet in my setup for the past 2 years now with decent success, but it was suggested to me pretty regularly that a cotton sheet would be more effective (in terms of how many moths it brought in). Earlier this week, I finally caved and ordered a cotton sheet online. I put it up today in the same spot I’d normally put up my other sheet, and over the course of this night, I have had different results… but not what I was expecting.

Rather than an increase in moths, I’ve barely had any on my sheet, with most of those that did show up just passing right by it. Instead, I’ve got dozens of wasps, flies, midges, etc.-- way more non-moth insects than normal, but very few moths overall. Of course, this might be a one-time issue, but I’ll obviously be going back to the polyester sheet if the cotton one keeps up on this trend. I’m still interested to hear, though, if a lot of people do think cotton is better.

I feel that cotton is better than Polyester Sheets
These are the advantages and disadvantages of cotton sheets for Mothing
Cotton being a natural fabric is great for summers, is soft, and breathable. At the same time, cotton sheets are a bit on the higher end, and susceptible to wear, and tear, and wrinkling. Polycotton overcomes the challenges of cotton as it is less prone to wrinkles, is more durable, and cost-effective as well

I think that cotton is better. It reflects UV light so it shines the light much farther than a material that doesn’t reflect UV.

1 Like

I do some rather serious sheeting and moth photography, and there are several factors to consider when choosing a fabric: durability, reflection, and ease of cleaning.