Do you put iNaturalist on your resume/curriculum vitae?

Do you put your iNaturalist contributions on your resume or curriculum vitae (CV)*? Why or why not? If you do, what section do you put it in, and what details do you provide? I know some users use iNaturalist for their jobs and/or work in ecology-related fields, while for many users, iNatting is primarily a hobby. I’m interested in hearing a variety of perspectives.

For context: I’m considering adding my iNaturalist contributions (~3000 observations & ~7000 identifications) to my CV. I’m a graduate student in the field of toxicology, and iNat is mainly a hobby for me. However, I still see my iNat use as a modest contribution to science, as well as a potential avenue for science communication/outreach, which is why I’m thinking about including it in some way on my resume/CV.

*For those unfamiliar, a curriculum vitae or CV (at least in the US) is sort of a long-form resume for academic jobs that lists out all publications, scientific presentations, service work, etc. I think in some places, “CV” is used interchangeably with resume and indicates a shorter 1-2 page summary of professional experience, but that’s not how I’m using it here.

11 Likes

The typical distinction between a CV and a resumé is that the former is comprehensive, while the latter is tailored to the specific application, like a summary of the CV picking out the most relevant points for the job in question.

In either case, I am sure iNat could be a very relevant experience to mention if you make ecology-related applications. For those who use iNat in their actual job, I would mention it there under that employment heading. If not, then I would put it with other hobbies and personal interests.

9 Likes