Ethics of making IDs of your own observations in taxa where you are not an expert

I’ve been using iNat for about five years and am wondering how far I should go to try to ID my own observations in areas I’m not an expert in. My specialty is birds, particularly on the east coast US.

But what about, for example, moths that I observe in my yard and am using a Peterson Guide to Moths of the Southeast field guide to identify? I’m by no means an expert, but I have a field guide and am familiar with looking for field marks and justifying my ID. Same goes for plants–can I use a field guide to wildflowers of my region and try to ID to species level my observations? Or should I leave it to the “experts” who are more familiar with species that may not be described in my books.

Are there certain areas I should stay away from as a novice, like fungi?

How do you all approach making IDs in areas where you are not an expert but are able to consult resources and make educated guesses? I would love to hear how others approach this.

5 Likes

Making mistakes is one of the ways one becomes an expert. By making a best guess and then having someone else confirm or disconfirm it, you learn more about the taxa. If you don’t know how to identify something, identify it to the best you can - if someone identifies it further own the tree, you can always ask how they did so.

The only think ethically wrong with IDing things you’re not an expert in is if you identify beyond your own knowledge. That’s guessing, not identification.

At least, that is how I approach it.

23 Likes

There’s no ethical problem with this. The worst case is that you’ve made a mistake, and someone corrects it. Perhaps that someone is you a couple years down the road, reviewing your past IDs with new knowledge!