"Flora DALL·Eensis": botanical specimens created with AI

I’ve been using DALL·E 2 to create botanical specimens. Would it interfere with iNaturalist’s algorithm if I uploaded these to iNaturalist? Of course, I wouldn’t complete any uploads as recorded observations, but I’d be interested to see iNaturalist’s species suggestions.

I’ve been using DALL·E 2 to create botanical specimens. Would it interfere with iNaturalist’s algorithm if I uploaded these to iNaturalist? Of course, I wouldn’t complete any uploads as recorded observations, but I’d be interested to see iNaturalist’s species suggestions.

EDIT: To be clear, I do not intend to submit these images as observations. I have been using iNaturalist for several years, and would never falsify any of my records.

What I’m asking is whether it would be appropriate to use iNaturalist to try to identify the plant forms created by the AI. Does iNaturalist’s algorithm learn from our images? Would uploading AI-generated images to view the suggested species interfere with the algorithm?

7 Likes

Nice work!

I do not think it’s a good idea to upload them, as they do not represent an encounter with nature.

If you want to test how they do with the CV, perhaps try this demo?
https://www.inaturalist.org/computer_vision_demo

19 Likes

If you don’t finish the upload process and only select these images to see what the CV says, I don’t think that impacts anybody or anything, so that should be fine to do.