Funding for iNaturalist-driven research projects?

Hi y’all,

I’m searching for small sources of funding for iNaturalist-driven research projects – can anyone recommend small pots of funding for such research? Does iNat itself ever fund projects that primarily use iNat data? I’ve seen one-off grants for “participatory science” centered projects from, e.g., NSF, but they tend to favor projects that directly involve community participants rather than consisting of secondary analysis of data from an existing community science platform like iNat.

For reference, I’m a postdoc researcher and am beginning a phenology-focused project across angiosperms that purely features iNaturalist data. The computational resources required for analyzing the data might cost up to a couple thousand dollars.

Thanks!

2 Likes

No, iNaturalist doesn’t do this.

5 Likes

There is, in general, rarely funding for data analysis research, and as you’ve said, what little research funding there is for participatory science leans heavily into working with participants.

6 Likes

A National Geographic Early Career grant might be a good fit.

7 Likes

If you can target your study to local interests, rare local plants, climate change in your area, etc., you might get a very small grant from your local state or provincial native plant society.

5 Likes

What is your research about? (Other than phenology.) What does across angiosperms mean? Global?

3 Likes

Are there any interdisciplinary internal grants you can apply for? Like partner with someone in the comp sci or data analytics department? I feel like universities love funding initiatives like that

1 Like

Thanks so much everyone for the info and suggestions! Definitely will look into the National Geographic grant program and into local + society + internal university grants. I definitely expected to find internal grants at my institution but haven’t run into anything yet that fits.