How do I use computer vision to get instant ID?

Hi, I’m new to iNaturalist and have not figured out how to get the instant suggestion from computer vision. I’ve uploaded many observations, but only have a few identifications from users. I’d really like to get the instant ID from computer vision, but can’t find the option anywhere in my observations. I’d rather use Seek, but I don’t have a cell phone. Can anyone help me figure out how to use the iNaturalist website to get instant ID suggestions?
Thanks.

Just click the Suggest an Identification tab under the observation identifications and then click into the species name box and it will fire off.

5 Likes

And depending on how fast your internet it, it might take a few seconds to get a suggestion to load. So I have to wait a few seconds when I click on the ID box at home.

2 Likes

You uploaded your observations just recently, so people had no chance to see them yet! Please delete all the duplicate observations, all photos of one spceimen done at one day should be in one observation, please ask questions if you have any.

Thanks for everyone’s replies. I must be missing something because I do not see any “Suggest an Identification” tab under my identifications. I have checked in my dashboard and also under “Observations” and I don’t see an option for an ID field. I see the suggested species by users, but that’s it.
Can anyone help with this?
Thanks

1 Like

When you’re uploading observations, click where it says “Species name”:

Video tutorial on the web uploader: https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/video+tutorials#add_web

If you already added the observation, go to the observation page (example: https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/86717395), then click Suggest an Identification, then click “Species name”. Then click “Done” to save the ID.

1 Like

I now see that when I initially upload a photo I can get a suggested ID. I still don’t know how to access this once my observations are uploaded. Is there a way?