How do you view mushroom gills without breaking mushroom?

I know part of ID’ing a mushroom is looking at the gills (or lack of gills). I have had issues where a mushroom is too short for me to get a picture. I feel bad breaking or picking the mushroom just to get an ID, so I just give up and don’t get pictures of under the cap. My question is, do mushrooms grow back? Am I feeling bad for no reason? Can you dig up a mushroom and re-plant it? I am a total mushroom newbie.

2 Likes

You can use a small mirror to peek underneath. Or slide your phone under if there is a gap.

This is a hot debate. Mushroom ID almost always requires damaging the mushroom at least a little. This does not harm the main organism, as a mushroom is only the reproductive part that makes spores.

12 Likes

I use a telescoping inspection mirror with LED lights. This pic shows how I use it to examine undersides of zucchini leaves for squash vine borer moth eggs. Very handy for all sorts of situations.

11 Likes

There’re also some suggestions in this thread https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/life-hacks-for-naturalists/4636
Shrooms are just fruiting bodies, so you have to take this in mind, you can read it up here: https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/reasons-not-to-pick-mushrooms/9024

7 Likes

If you want to ID, you will have to damage at least one fruit body. Not only presence/absence of gills are important, but also the surface of stem along the whole length, colour ant its changes of the flesh - best when the fruit body is cut in halves lengthwise (thus you might also see some inhabitants of the fungus). Mushroom is a fruitbody, you really won’t harm the organism. However, take care to examine mature (but not overmature) mushroom: only such will have necessary characteristics, besides, at least part of its spores will spread even from the damaged parts.

13 Likes

I like this idea!

Most of the mushrooms I come across are solo which is why I don’t want to harm them. Thank you for your reply!

1 Like