How does your country manage its Biodiversity?

Hi Folks

I recently had an interesting exchange on this thread regarding the regulations put in place (or not) to manage herbaria collections and overall biodiversity administration: https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/what-is-the-best-way-to-collect-plant-specimens/31097

I thought I’d create a new topic to find out from you good folks how your country views its biodiversity and natural assets within its borders and what systems it has in place to ensure that said natural diversity thrives under protections whilst still adding value to the citizens of the country and bolstering the GDP?

Looking forward to hearing your answers!

4 Likes

Great question!
I’m a student in Canada (Ontario), which is home to a wide range of environments, (i.e. tundra, prairies, wetlands, oceans/lakes, etc) and citizens generally enjoy the concept of biodiversity. Unfortunately, Canadians have a disproportionately large carbon footprint, attributed heavily to our usage of forests and underground oil reserves. There’s also a lot of dissent about whether pipelines to the US should be built or not because while it would provide jobs and boost the economy, it would also encroach on traditional Indigenous territory and damage the surrounding environmental areas. Although Canada has made significant changes, to protecting natural areas and green spaces, we still have a long way to go in terms of biodiversity protection. :herb:

3 Likes

At least in the US you have to look at multiple levels of government— federal (eg, Endangered Species Act), State (state laws and regulations that protect and manage species and their habitats), and municipal. Lots of protected lands and habitats in addition to species-focused protections. Not to mention the nongovernmental entities protecting private lands such as Nature Conservancy. So it’s a big question with many answers.

2 Likes

There’s also species lists for some tribes, like the Navajo Nation.