How to best contribute to identifications? Looking for advice

First time posting on the forum. I’ve been using iNat for a few years now mostly to contribute observations, but I’m starting to wonder how I can best contribute identifications. My specialty is birds of Eastern North America. I’ve been an East Coast birder for 20+ years, but I find that lots of birders are on iNat and very quickly contribute IDs to bird sightings. Birds don’t seem to need as much help as other taxa. If I want to start a regular identification practice on iNat, how can I be most helpful?

–Should I stick to birds since they are my specialty and look for a geographic area that needs help with IDs?
–Should I stick to my local area but branch out to another taxa that I can learn and contribute to IDs?
–Should I ID by geographic location in an area that is underrepresented for IDs overall?

Thanks for any advice!

16 Likes

any/all of those are good options. Goodness knows I’ve learned a lot from getting ID’s on iNat and I look for a lot more non-herp/non-bird animals and plants than I used to. And learning about animals in exotic places I’ll never go has been fun as well but I’m leery of making ID’s without ever having seen said animals in person myself, I just can’t feel confident

8 Likes

Welcome to the forum! I have been on iNat for less than three years so I don’t have any answers for you, but I admire the questions! I do think that it’s important that whatever you choose is something that you like enough that you can sustain your interest in it, so it doesn’t become a chore to you. I started with IDing unknowns in my area, but since my observations have been mostly birds and arthropods, and most unknowns in my area seem to be plants that I am not familiar with, I was not able to sustain my interest. I will try again, with, perhaps, a different focus sometime.

4 Likes

Yes, that feeling of confidence (or the lack of it) is a major motivating factor!

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum!