iDentifi: An Identification Practice Tool Using the iNat API

Hi there!

I’m a software engineer with a love of nature, and I’m here to share a tool I’ve been working on, originally started for my own ID practice over the winter months.
I’m happy to say it’s finally in a state where I’m looking for feedback from folks who would potentially be interested in using it.

identifi.life: a free tool using the iNaturalist API to quiz and practice your identification skills.

• Filter by taxa, date, location radius (with geolocation), and by endemic or introduced species.
  • All practice observations are research grade, with links to the original observation.
  • Guess at several levels of taxonomy from phylum to species, using scientific or common names.
  • View collected stats on your success rate and your most/least known taxa.
  • Desktop, tablet, and mobile friendly.
  • It’s totally free and all stats/settings are stored locally in browser, so there’s no signup/login, you can jump right in.

The site is still in early open beta testing, but all features above have been implemented, & I have a contact form right on the site to easily gather any feedback from users on errors and potential improvements.
If you decide to check it out, I’d love to hear what you think, and what features a site like this would need to be useful to you.

I’d particularly like feedback on what directions/instructions would be helpful to new users, as I’ve been working on this long enough that it’s hard for me to tell what it would be like to use it for the first time :sweat_smile:

Thanks for reading!
– Mel

26 Likes

Oh boy, I like this a lot! It helps that I correctly identified my first challenge without any mistakes (it was Taxus brevifolia!). I really appreciate the fine-grain control you give users over the location here - I could imagine some designs limiting things by jurisdiction or other less granular lenses, and that would add a lot of problems. This is great!