iNat doesn't seem to update community ID (the one displayed for an observation) properly in certain cases

I have encountered the following problem several times. Not sure if it is a bug or by design, but it seems to contradict iNat’s approach to picking the ID for an observation. An example with some detailed comments is https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/110553914.
It happens if the original ID suggestion is incorrect by a lot, that is, the organism actually belongs to a different higher-order taxon. I, as a reviewer, may recognize this, but I’m not an expert of what the observation shows, so I suggest the highest-order taxon that I believe the organism belongs to, and “disagree” with the original ID.
This usually alerts other reviewers to take a look, and additional suggestions then narrow down the ID while AGREEING with my higher-order taxon suggestion. What doesn’t seem to make sense is that iNat then treats my suggestion as if it disagrees with the later IDs, even though it does not. I actually have to “withdraw” my (correct!) ID suggestion in such cases in order to have iNat update the displayed ID.
This is completely different from the behavior when the first ID suggestion is a high-order taxon that successively gets improved by later suggestions (in which case iNat automatically adopts the most precise suggestion).
Hard to explain, but the example referred to above should make it clear, I hope.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!
It’s intentional, but there has been a lot of discussion about potentially changing it. You made a “branch disagreement”, but expected a “leading disagreement”.

See related topic and blog post.

7 Likes

Thank you for the quick reply! I’m glad to see that you understood exactly what I was trying to explain.
I’m still not clear though how I can indicate that I’m intending to make a “leading disagreement” rather than a “branch disagreement”.