iNatters with graduate degrees: how does one apply for grad school as an adult?

Despite having worked as an environmental consultant for 9 years, my degree is only tangentially related to ecology (I have a degree in urban planning). I’ve often felt like I’d like a formal degree in ecology or botany and I’m finally starting to take this seriously.

These may seem like dumb questions but it’s been so long since I’ve been in academia that I’m mystified by it. My questions are: how does one even go about finding a graduate program or supervisor as an adult? Is it appropriate to cold call professors who’ve done research on topics you’re interested in? Is there any kind of “job board” for professors seeking graduate students?

1 Like

What part of the world are you thinking of and are you looking for a masters or a phd?

1 Like

Should have specified: Canada or the US.

1 Like

Best is to connect with professors, grad students, and labs you are interested in. And don’t do it unless you get funding imho

2 Likes

Also, seriously think about the time commitment. Don’t do it because a degree would be ‘nice to have’. I see folks with this attitude regularly drop out because that sort of motivation doesn’t last two (Masters) or let alone 4-5 (PhD) years.

Do it because it opens up concrete career opportunities. Best is if your current employer (or a prospective employer) supports you. Otherwise, look for certificate programs instead of grad school.

edit to add: If personal growth outside of career is the main drive, look into teaching adult school. Birding, plants, ecology, whatever. You’ll be the one learning the most.

7 Likes