iNaturalist ID as herbarium reference?

Hello everyone,
I am an amateur lichenologist with my own herbarium. I am currently using the iNaturalist observation IDs (which I assume is the number in the URL address of the observation) as a reference number for each collected lichen. I would like to ask if anyone can chime in if this makes sense — for example if iNat is planning to abandon these numbers for some reason, it would be difficult to trace back the observations from colllected specimens. Thanks!

6 Likes

I don’t know about the stability of iNat’s numbering system, but my gut feeling is that it might be better to use GBIF as the reference rather than iNat.

Research Grade observations from iNat get imported to GBIF (assuming they have the right permissions) and GIBF is a bit more accepted among the scientific community than iNat is.

I don’t know if there is a way to check if a specific iNat observation is on GBIF though.

3 Likes

I would recommend that you create your own sequential numbering system (which could then be cited in any publications) and reference the iNat observation ID as well.

8 Likes

I really don’t see how iNaturalist could lose these and continue to function, unless it ceases to exist, in which case the need for a reference is moot. I think using the observation numbers as a reference makes sense. It’s also suggested by this paper. While iNaturalist staff do sometimes emphasise that they don’t see the platform primarily as a repository for data, and prefer to focus on connecting people with nature, and therefore might not support something like this in the long term, I can’t see how they would replace these numbers and maintain things that already exist like links between observations through observation fields, nor imagine any rationale for doing so.