Introduction and looking for advice for learning about beetles endangered in the US

I’m not sure that I am on the right website or forum, but if I’m not, I’m sure someone will letting me know.

I’m an artist working in metal, enamels and stone and recently started a series making beetles. Along with researching them, I came to find out how many were threatened or endangered. I have decided to realign my series focusing in on ones that are endangered, and found the list of the ones protected by the Endangered Species Act, but know there are probably many more.

I’ve recently applied for a grant for a project to make sculptures of beetles that are set in vignettes or dioramas, along with information about what is endangering them and what we can do to help.

I attach a picture of the kind of thing I’m planning to do. Yes, the body is too wide and the legs and antenna aren’t quite right, but it is a prototype. I’m still working on my molds and this was a jewelry piece. It’s vitreous enamel on fine and sterling silver, and I’ve been working on processes to achieve iridescence with some success.

I’m not an entomologist, just an artist, but I do love beetles and care about what’s happening to them. If anyone could direct me to where I could learn more about them and the threats, I would really appreciate it.

I posted on BugGuide.net, but I have gotten no response there, so was emboldened to ask for assistance here. Thank you to anyone in advance who can give me some direction.

Debbie Kirkpatrick

9 Likes

The Xerces Society might be a group to look into.

The Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation is an international nonprofit organization that protects the natural world through the conservation of invertebrates and their habitats.