Learning bird songs

I am developing a really nice little library of birdsongs captured by my Ring cameras. Sometimes I can see and recognize the bird, but not always. I have a serious problem remembering calls to compare them with recordings online. That’s odd, considering that I’m a musician, but it is what it is. Any suggestions for improving my skills? I have Larkwire, but I’m not making much progress. Should I post the calls and let the community suggest ID?

6 Likes

Yes, absolutely post them and we can help. Learning bird vocalizations and developing the vocabulary to differentiate them is difficult and can take years to get good at. As a musician, you have some advantage – imagining what they would look like as sheet music is helpful for me (like a dark-eyed junco song would look something like a bunch of 32 notes or so on one pitch). Examining the sonograms is also helpful for visualization. And use mnemonics to help remember them, the more eccentric the better.

Beyond that, repetition, repetition, repetition!

15 Likes

Absolutely post them! Everything was said in the first brilliant answer, but I want to add there’s only a few people that are very good at bird songs, most of us forget many of them through winter and relearn each spring, so making a habit listening to tons of videos with them is definitely a thing to consider especially if you can’t sit outside 24/7, plus it helps with recognizing something new.

5 Likes

One point that I hope will help – try to focus more on the tone of the song rather than the melody. (The singer, not the song… Most people learning bird songs are actually interested in identifying the bird rather than which of their different song types they’re singing at the moment.)

9 Likes