Birding Resources: Bird Sounds Organized by Similarity?

Hi all,

I’ve been birding for a few years, and as I get ready for the spring migration in the Northern Hemisphere, I’ve been studying up my bird songs and calls. As I’ve been doing this, I’ve started thinking about different resources that would help me (and others) in the journey to learn. One hypothetical resource that keeps coming to mind is some kind of organizational system for looking at bird songs and calls based on their similarities. Instead of being grouped based on Genus, why not organized based on if the song is a trill, or metallic, or fluted? That way when encountering a song like that of a Pine Warbler, I can quickly look to see ah yes, it also might have been a Dark-Eyed Junco, or Chipping Sparrow.

Does anyone know if this sort of resource is available? If not, I might go about seeing if I have someway to create it during this time of COVID quarantine.

5 Likes

Donald J Borror’s “Songs of Eastern Birds” had the songs and calls of birds organized this way. Originally published a very long time ago (I used to have the cassette tapes), I think you can still find this on CD. Hope that helps.

4 Likes

@oops Welcome to the community! I hope @sttpgh answered your question. Thank you for asking, I hadn’t even thought of something like that. That would help me so much!

1 Like

Nathan Pieplow’s Field Guides to Bird Sounds to Eastern/Western North America are excellent. They have two sections in them. One is grouped by species and shows all the sounds for each species. The other is indexed by the type of sound, so you can look up all species that make that sound. Here is an example:

The recordings that go with the books are available online:
https://academy.allaboutbirds.org/peterson-field-guide-to-bird-sounds/

9 Likes