Mark Recapture Questions

I’m a teacher and am creating a presentation for my environmental science class about Mark-Recapture methods for estimating population sizes. I’m trying to create a comprehensive list of answers to these questions and would love your input!

1. What are different creative ways of marking animals that you’ve seen? For instance, I’ve seen nail polish on snails and even cutting off toes on rodents. If you have links to any pictures, I would love to include some in my presentation.

2. What are different reasons why someone would want to estimate the population size of animals? (E.g., to know if a lake needs to be restocked with fish, etc.)

Thanks!

There are many ways to mark animals for identification. What is chosen is largely dependent on your needs. Animals that are observed but not captured (birds, large/fast mammals) may have larger tags or collars. As you have mentioned, animals in hand vary from snails to rodents. Nail polish may work on a snail, but may rub off over time. On a reptile, it works until it sheds its skin. Coloured elastometer beads can be injected just below the skin for more permanent identification. Microchips do the same, but a read with a reading device. Cutting off digits, tail tips, scale clips, shell notching etc have all been done.
With whatever you do, you’ll want to run it through an Animal Care and Use Committee. Animals certainly feel pain, and we don’t want people cutting of fingers willy-nilly. Tagging methods can also have other drawbacks, including increased predation and reduced fecundity. Having a group of people (ACUC) review your protocol is great way to double check that you havn’t overlooked anything, and that your project is both ethical and worthwhile. It is also the law in most places (North America). Most provinces and states will also require some version of a “scientific collectors permit”. These can be easy to obtain, and are often combined with an ACUC review all in one step.