A question for maintaining a wildlife tracker

Hey friends! So I have a wildlife tracker (seen in photos below) that I’ve been keeping up with for a couple of years ago and I’ve never really ran into the problem I am now. For the most part I see animals 1 or 2 at a time, so my tracker looks like “2 snakes 08/23/23” with a more detailed written observation below. The thing is, today I saw a wild, free-roaming herd of over 100 American Bison, and a large town of Prairie Dogs, and I hate to put “100 bison, 50 prairie dogs, 2 lizards” because then it looks weird and inaccurate to me (even if it isn’t). I also hate the way it looks on my yearly tracker, because it’ll have 300+ deer throughout the year, but then 100+ bison from 1 day.

If you have a tracker, how do you track large herds? Do you just put 100 bison for 1 day and call it good, or do you have a better system? Thank you in advance!

The first photo is the basic month by month tracker I keep in my phone, the second is the yearly total for every animal I’ve seen so far in 2023.

i don’t keep a tracker outside of what i report to citizen science, and i don’t, personally, see any issue with having a large amount of reported individuals from one day… however, perhaps reporting it at 1 herd {100+ bison} and your yearly totals would otherwise be “Bison - {however many others you’ve seen individually} + 1 herd” so it would be differentiated and in the yearly totals counted as one unit.

3 Likes

The eBird help center has a good article, How to Count Birds, that has many tips that are applicable for counting large groups of any taxa.