National Moth Week moth appreciation post

Hello everyone! ^^ Happy National Moth Week! To celebrate the occasion, share some of your moth observations!

Lepidopterans are easily some of my favorite creatures to observe. While I’m pretty new to iNat I already have a handful of moths under my belt. Geometer moths like Red Twin-Spot Carpets, Pale Beauties, Canadian Melanolophias and Large Maple Spanworms are frequent sights around my area, and I recently got my first visit from a Rosy Maple!

While I’ve been seeing them around for quite some time, I was never able to get a decent photo of any Snout Moths until recently, so I’m pretty happy about that. I also somehow went from having never seen a Polyphemus Moth up close before to seeing my first one a few weeks ago and having a second one literally on my doorstep not long after. That first one was flying around alot and it was a bit hard to get close to it, but the second one was very friendly and may be my favorite moth encounter I’ve had thus far.

Any fellow moth enjoyers have more moths to show me? :D

9 Likes

Yesterday, I saw this mint moth and the day before this sunflower moth caterpillar

2 Likes

I mothed in Sagehen Reserve this past weekend and while the moths were quite good (I’ve seen better in past summers), the mites were awesome! Saw several snout mites hunting, plus mites were on at least two other insects.

It’s a lot of fun to just put up a light or two and see what shows up.

3 Likes

This Atlas Moth caterpillar was a neat find, and I like the colors and patterns on this Pearl Moth.

One of my former employees here was really into photographing arthropods of all sorts, so our biodiversity collection project has a lot of moths in it. Unfortunately, most of them not identified to species. yet.

2 Likes

We’ve had a very good moth year in the Rainy River District of Northwestern Ontario. My project for District moths shows some of the finds I’ve had in 2021, including: