New world wild cat reintroduction

Is it possible to reintroduce Jaguars, Ocelots, jaguarundis and Margays back to the Southeast United States to control invasive and overabundant populations?

1 Like

If the climatic conditions, topography and other major reasons like maintenance of habitat and food availability for these animals are available, then may be it could be possible to reintroduce them back to Southern United States.

1 Like

And if you can convince local residents and farmers.
We want to live, on the urban edge, with ‘nature’. But only the sanitised bits. (No baboons for Cape Town, leopards long since gone but we do still have caracal)

7 Likes

Is this a school project for you @Monsterkajiu19 ? Are you looking for study sources? If so, There may be some interesting papers on Britain’s rewilding efforts.

In the US, such animals might just end up being shot.

2 Likes

My guess - and I am FAR from an expert on felid ecology, mind you - is that the limiting factor in reintroductions of these species will be intensive human use of the landscape (which likely was why these species disappeared, if they were ever there).

Another really wild guess: If one defines successful reintroduction as the species reproducing and maintaining or perhaps increasing its numbers for a minimum period of time since reintroduction (at least a decade, preferably more), then one needs to find suitable areas of habitat that can support (here’s the wild guess part) a minimum of 20 breeding-age females. The habitats need to be large enough and connected enough that genetic flow is not impeded substantially. In other words, where are there large enough areas of suitable habitat in the southeast, areas without intensive, constant human use? (To my mind, public roads are intensive, but powerline corridors, for example, are not.)