Old observations - still useful?

Here’s a set of related general questions from a relative newbie. I’ve been taking wildlife photos for years, and I’m a reasonably good photographer. I recently joined iNaturalist, and posted photos from my yard going back maybe 7 years, photos from Africa from 2019 and also 2008. I assume that this has value as long as I have exact location and date information. The question is in several parts: (1) Am I right that these older photos have value? (2) I have older photos than these that in some cases have sufficient location/date data, some from other countries or other states. Should I post them?

Related question: if I see the same species over a long period of time, should I post ongoing observations? If so, how often?

14 Likes

yes, as long as you have the time and passion to do so.

observations can be valuable even if the dates and locations are not super precise.

yes, if you like. probably not every second, probably not every minute, probably not every hour. otherwise, use your best judgment.

13 Likes

Yes, old observations are indeed useful!

I have posted a couple of observations from the mid-2000s, and have come across observations dating to the 1970s and 80s and earlier!

if I see the same species over a long period of time, should I post ongoing observations? If so, how often?

You could post every day if you wanted to.

8 Likes

I recently posted some old photos of dragonflies that I took while on vacation in California 10 years ago. The person who identified them said they were new state records for latest flight dates for those species. I thought it was pretty cool that my old photos could contribute something about the biology of a species.