Oreocereus Celcianus cold hardiness

Quick little question related gardening and landscaping. But do any of you have experience with Oreocereus Celcianus, and how cold hardy it is? With it’s location in the Andes and Atacama desert you would assume it’s quite hardy, but I see a lot of conflicting reports on different websites ranging from -5c to -20c.

I ask because I have one, but I’m not really keen on houseplants and would like to plant it this year if possible (high desert, four corners, USDA Zone 7a)

for gardening stuff, i think this is usually a good reference: https://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/67349.

1 Like

Yeah, I’ve looked at davesgarden for some stuff, but like I said different places give different answers. I just wanted to see if anyone had first hand experience here.

1 Like

I have no first-hand experience with cold-hardiness of South American cacti, but I notice that the airport at La Quiaca, Argentina is within the distribution of this species. Data from the airport weather station suggests that minimum temperatures in winter (i.e. July) are usually around -4°C. Wikipedia reports the average low in July is -6.8°C and the coldest ever recorded is -15.2°C.

For Farmington, NM, the average January low is around -7°C which seems pretty comparable, but it looks like the risk of extremely low temperatures is a lot greater than in the Andes. Farmington’s record low is -28.9°C, and the USDA Zone 7a designation implies that the average annual extreme low is between -15°C and -17.8°C.

Another factor to consider would be winter precipitation, but this seems comparable in both locations with less than 3 mm total across the four coldest months.

Overall, I’d guess that this species would do fine in mild and average winters in your location but would be vulnerable during really severe cold snaps.

1 Like