Posting numbers with observations

As a fairly new observer, I have been eBirding for over 10 years, less consistently for the past 6. I understand that you don’t want posts made of every observation that you see, but am wondering if things like general numbers seen would be of value. For instance, I have seen locations where I have literally seen hundreds to thousands of Rambur’s Forktails within a fifty yard walk compared to a few at a time at other locations. Does that matter? Or do you just want to know that they are either there or they are not? I have Striped Saddlebags in two locations, which I am told is a big deal (I haven’t posted the second location yet because my camera is at work), but the big deal is that I have seen two at the second location. I think that is kind of important.

I admit I do post multiple images of species at times because I am not sure that they are the same or because they are different sex or color. That will probably change once I become less overwhelmed by what I am seeing. I remember when I first started birding, posting 6 or 7 different pictures of the same species of shorebirds thinking that they were all different only to find out that they were all Sanderlings!

Also, should I just treat everyday like a new day and post everything I see as if I didn’t post it yesterday? The local Mocking birds that call my office their territory, or the pair of Great Horned Owls that I hear periodically on a regular basis. Or do you just want the unusual stuff?

I know that I am asking a lot of questions, but I want to maximize my understanding of your goals.

Thank you,

Dave

4 Likes