Recording the Effects of Climate Change

We just had a pretty good storm blow through northern California. The winds were clocked in Sacramento at 63 mph (101 km/hr) and it destroyed a Red-tailed Hawk nest which I had been monitoring for a few years now. The nest had been destroyed by another wind event last winter, too, and had just been rebuilt. Although this wind event has not been directly attributed to climate change, it has been suggested that it was made worse by climate change and El Nino. (My observation trail is here: https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/198598580)

This made me wonder if it would be helpful for iNat to collect data on observations which were influenced by climate change, similar to the California State Roadkill project. However, given my health of late, I do not have the capability or energy to administer such a project. Just a thought, realizing that not all ideas are good ideas.

4 Likes

Small soapbox moment: It’s a mischaracterization to talk about Climate Change’s impact on any one single weather event. This is a common oversimplification perpetuated by the media. Climate Change can be attributed to changes in frequency and average severity of weather events, but we need to stop referring to Climate Change in reference to the occurrence/severity of a single weather event.

I don’t think observations can really be attributed to “influenced by Climate Change”. Climate Change can influence populations, phenology, and range shifts, but again, it’s a mischaracterization to attribute Climate Change as a causal factor to something that happened in any single point in time. Whereas roadkill can be definitively determined.

6 Likes