Solanum species in the San Francisco Bay Area

I’ve been seeing a lot of IDs for Solanum douglasii on iNat. My question is, is this species more widespread than I had believed? The Jepson Herbarium certainly only has a few specimen records, Calflora has very few records, and the Marin Flora (2007) attributes S. douglasii as misidentified S. furcatum. With how similar white-flowered Solanum species are, particularly S. douglasii and S. furcatum, is it possible that iNat is full of misidentified Solanum?

1 Like

I would guess that it is not just possible but probable. I just took a quick look at S. douglasii observations, and almost every ID was based on Computer Vision. I suspect that many of the observers had no idea what species they were looking at.

4 Likes

iNat is full of misidentified anything, so you may want to add the species to cleaning AI topic.

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum, @nalden!

Thanks for the info. It helps as I’m still new to iNat. Where is the cleaning AI topic?

It’s mostly likely mixed, yes. Even down south these species are confused. Furthermore, americanum and nigrum are both troublesome to distinguish, so it isn’t just furcatum and douglasii that are an issue.