The galls are making me crazy

For context i am an enthusiastic amateur. Recently I’ve been into observing Casuarina glauca galls.

There’s one type of gall ( Selitrichodes) for which there is only one observation aside from my observations. And no-one has confirmed any of my Selitrichodes observations yet. Yet they seem locally plentiful.

Even weirder - there are other C.glauca galls that are locally very common and quite striking and lovely in form ( though tiny) but no one seems to know what they are beyond ‘wasp’. I can’t work out how many species are involved here, but it seems like more than one.

It blows my mind a bit because Casuarina glauca is possibly the most common tree in and around my city. They are everywhere, whole swampy forests of them and they line the highways. Everywhere galls! It is pretty much impossible to find Casuarina without mysterious galls. I keep wondering if I’m missing something. Can these galls really be so overlooked?

As someone without access to the resources a professional might have i’m not sure there’s much more i can do but make observations and wait? I’ve kinda hit a brick wall in terms of further ID.

Anyway I’m sure other folks must feel a similar kind of insanity/ loneliness/ awe about observations they make. I’d like to hear from anyone that can relate.

7 Likes

Hang in there! Better yet, try to enjoy the knowledge that biodiversity is so vast that we each could get lost in our own little corner of it if we wanted to. Only a handfull of iNat users have taken more than a few observations of C.glauca, so I’m guessing you are indeed the only one into their galls. Which means you are making a unique and valuable contribution. But it doesn’t mean you can’t find community. This project: https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/australian-galls might be a good place to look for advice or identifiers.