Trouble with iNat API - update observation info

Platform Android, iOS, WEB

Hello!
From the beginning: I am a student of biological sciences at the federal university of uberlândia. I’m currently working on arthropod identification in the city of Uberlândia, more specifically on the glória campus (experimental farm).

The idea of the work is to survey the arthropod fauna in the region. To do this, I set up traps in various locations around the farm (I have the coordinates of the regions).

Sorting process: identification of the arthropod, weighing, size measurement.

The problem: Hundreds of different animals are collected every day. During the sorting process, we upload photos of the animals to inaturalist, both to have photos attached and to help identify the species. As this process is done in the laboratory, the latitude, longitude and place_guess fields were automatically entered as if the animal had been collected in the laboratory.

As we have more than 300 observations and changing the coordinates of each observation is unfeasible, I thought I’d develop a code using the inaturalist api with application authentication to be able to make mass changes to the ids of the photos I need to change.

We still have more than 500 observations to place in iNaturalist, making the bulk change option unfeasible as well.

The problem encountered: For some reason that even the inaturalist developers couldn’t tell me, when the script is run it takes a list of observation ids and changes the coordinates one by one. When it makes the change, the photo of the observation is deleted (the coordinates and place_guess are changed without problems).

Alternatives tried: make the script save the photo of the observation before changing the coordinates and place_guess, make these changes and send the photo to the observation again → I couldn’t identify why it didn’t work.

Here’s the code for the script I’m trying to set up:

import requests 

# Credenciais do app inat