Using Latin binomials instead of common names?

Hello,
I’m new to using this app but not new to identifying fungi. I am starting to enter the fungi I see - but I want to use the proper Latin binomials for the project (Marys Point) and inaturalist (or another person on this app) sometimes reverts my observation to a “general” name or a “common” name. I don’t want this, I want the species name. I am double checking all my posts with another world famous mycologist, so I am certain my naming is correct.

What do you suggest I do to keep the Latin binomial listed as I entered it?

Thanks,
Pam

Hi @pamkry, and welcome!

There is a way to change this preference in User Settings, to display scientific names first. Do you also use the website, or only one of the apps?

Also, I am going to move your post to General, since this category is meant for iNaturalist Curators to begin discussions on our work on iNat.

4 Likes

To add - your species name doesn’t go anywhere, being it shown after common name doesn’t move it away, taxonomy is still based on Latin.

5 Likes

I took a look at your observations, and I may have found the problem. It seems that in stead of entering an ID, what you wrote became a placeholder. This can happen in several occasions, but most frequently if you enter a name that does not match iNaturalist’s taxonomy – because of a misspelling or any other reason.
iNat does not have a single, consistent source for its Fungi taxonomy, as mentioned here. If you feel a taxon is missing or should be changed, please flag the parent taxon and a Curator will follow up.

7 Likes