UV Light Safety Whilst Mothing

I’m not too familiar when it comes to the use of uv lights, but I have some questions. I’ve seen many people use uv lights when mothing. Yet, they don’t seem to be concerned about the dangers that come with uv light. What are the affects that come from mothing when using uv lights if any? What precautions could be taken? Should uv light even be used anymore? I’ve looked around and was surprised by the lack of discussion on this topic. I’ve seen people recommend blue uv lights over purple uv lights aswell. Is the blue light less dangerous? Does the blue light attract more moths? Maybe I’m looking at this all wrong, but have y’all had this question come up before?

4 Likes

I have no experience regarding this, but I did take a college Chemistry class recently so I have my 2 cents.

Not all UV light is the same:

So you see, on one end you can have UV light that is close to visible spectrum (“wimpy” ones, as my professor would put it. On the other you can have those nearing X-ray spectrum, which have way more energy. High energy UV waves are the most damaging ones. I would assume that most handheld UV lights are towards the “wimpy” side and should not do much harm?

Edit: also dosage as well, I’d think that the intensity of those UV lights are relatively low. I could be wrong though.

2 Likes

Take it from my Chem professor’s book: https://mccord.cm.utexas.edu/chembook/page.php?chnum=3&sect=4

Read the section on ultra-violet on that page, which should explain it well enough.

the effects would generally be the same as any exposure to any UV light. how much danger there is depends on how intense the light / exposure is, how long you are exposed, what part of the body you’re exposing, and which wavelength(s) are involved.