What are the Best Practices for Adding Observation Field Options to Observations?

I’ve been using iNat relatively consistently since 2019, but I’m only now just starting to dig into some of its more “advanced” features, namely the Observation Fields options. I’ve been looking for information in which to help me better understand this feature, but haven’t yet found anything definitive. Let me know if this topic has already been covered. I couldn’t find anything obvious here on the forums, though.

I don’t necessarily want to include a million different observation field options for each observation I submit. However, there are some that I’d like to use routinely such as “count of individuals” (for birds) and “associated observations” (when I find multiple species sharing some sort of interaction). I’ve also started to use the “track or sign” option when I find bear tracks in the snow, for example. So I have a rudimentary understanding of how to go about adding them.

I’m just wondering if there’s a top ten list, for example, of the most useful Observation Field options. When I searched for a list of Observations Fields options there were literally hundreds of webpages with each containing 10+ options on each of those pages!

And it looked like many had redundant options. For example, when I searched for “# of” the following options appeared (not including the dozen other options that use the #):

1. (hashtag) # of individuals?
  2. estimated # of individuals
  3. (hashtag) # of birds
  4. (hashtag) # of bird
  5. Total # of individuals
  6. (hashtag) # of individuals

The “# of individuals?” versus “# of individuals” and “# of birds” versus “# of bird” reminds me of Instagram hashtags where they mean the same thing but have their own separate place/thread (and are ultimately unrelated). Are any of those actually useful if everyone is documenting them differently, despite their similarity?