What to do with photos?

I’m new to wildlife photography and i mostly shoot invertebrates and birds. I usually delete my photos after uploading them to inaturalist though now i’m thinking maybe it is a good idea to save/store them? I’m trying to see what the consensus is; What do you guys do with your photos?

Definitely keep them :)

Definitely, definitely keep a backup somewhere.

2 Likes

Always keep them. Keep several copies.

I take a lot of wildlife photos and have duplicate back-ups of the RAW images as well as the processed images along with the .xmp files that record the raw-jpg edits. I keep the back-ups two different external hard drives and as much as I can on my primary laptop as well.

Obviously, you can ditch the poor quality images (as long as they do not contain valuable information - what counts as valuable is up to you), but definitely keep all the rest.

2 Likes

I use a DSLR that I upload to my computer, so all of my photos are on my computer. Most phones can do the same if they have a cloud or backup set up.

1 Like

Just to be a dissenting voice - I compulsively throw away and delete things. :D I don’t keep copies of the photos I post on inat observations. I’m very picky about which photos I consider ‘good’ enough to keep and share. Most of the ones that end up on inat aren’t good photography by my personal standards, they’re just identifiable and so they’re useful for only that purpose. The few photos I’m really pleased with go on instagram etc and I usually keep copies of the final edited versions but I don’t save RAW or anything else.

6 Likes

Thanks for all the replies!
I’m kinda in line with @JayAvery as i’m more of a “do and forget” guy.
Although i might probably make use of the photos later on, maybe make a profit out of it or use it for scientific publication? hence i think i agree that i should store them.

1 Like