What's Your Most "Controversial" Observation?

I haven’t seen this topic on these forums yet so I figured it would be interesting to bring up. What’s your most “controversial” observation? Which one sparked the most debate? The most alternative ID’s?

While I’m still extremely new to iNaturalist, for me it would have to be this moth, which at the time of this forum post, has 3 disagreeing species level ID’s.

8 Likes

Lots of disagreement-related comments on this one and this one of mine, and then of course there’s the terrible barnacle saga :rofl:

11 Likes

Fascinating! I’ve yet to go towards anything coastal, Mollusca & Annelida seem like a few cans of worms I really do not want to open, near all of them look the same to me.

This is the first time I’ve seen images used in comments though! Really interesting I didn’t know that was at any time a feature. Your explanations and deductions were really interesting, nice job!

1 Like

Gray Wolf, Coyote, Domestic Dog? In a valley in Yellowstone NP: https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/84068938

3 Likes

It’s not really controversial but it did spark some discussion. A possible hybrid swallowtail. https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/173078886

3 Likes

I think this duck is my most controversial observation. I’m still not convinced it’s a domestic mallard (and to be fair, I identify a lot of ducks, including domestic mallards, on here and on FB). But if I’m outvoted, I’m outvoted, haha.

3 Likes

Is there a way to search for an observation with lots of identifications/comments? Or is everyone just happening to remember their observations that fit this description?

1 Like

pretty onesided controversial, but it was pretty awesome moment of enlightment for me :-)
https://www.inaturalist.org/observations/38681756

6 Likes

I couldn’t find much but it’s probably this one, likely attributed to the awkward angle. The tail shape changes from photo to photo.

1 Like