When suggesting IDs--should they all be very confident, or is reasonably confident sometimes enough?

Greetings everyone;

I’m fairly new to iNaturalist and I’m really enjoying it–I’ve always loved animals, but it’s amazing how much lives right in my own backyard, unnoticed until I knew where to look!

That being said, due to my newness, I had a question about iNaturalist “etiquette.” Usually when I suggest an ID, I’m 99% confident it is whatever I’m suggesting (I’m pretty well versed in NYS Frogs & Toads). Sometimes, however, I come across an observation that I THINK might be something, but I’m not 100% sure on. In those cases, is it more helpful to suggest an ID or to leave it to the pros?

Examples
-> I’ve seen a few uploads of things like lichens and insects by highly experienced users who seem to know what they’re talking about when they ID them. I’m not 100% myself, but if it looks agreeable I’ll usually second it to help get it into viable data form. Is this good–helping making it useful to researchers, when it might not get a second agreeable ID otherwise for a long while–or bad, because I’m “certifying” something without actually being sure of it?
-> Another observation I saw recently I was fairly sure was a swallowtail caterpillar of some sort, so I put it under “butterflies.” Turns out it was a sawfly larva! Would it have been better to leave it alone or is it good to put out suggestions? In this one

3 Likes