Where do I start?

Hello! I just recently stumbled upon inaturalist after looking for ways I could explore this interest. Let me start by saying, I’m a bit overwhelmed. I have no experience with any of this and I don’t exactly know where to start. All I know is that I live in the most perfect place for exploration with conservatories, public wildlife parks, etc. all around. I didn’t grow up in this environment and it all feels really foreign honestly. I want to be able to identify plants, animals, etc but there is just so much to take in.

Could someone recommend any beginner resources? Books to follow? Items to take out with me? I’m lost.

Thank you!

15 Likes

Firstly, just have some fun with exploring nature. The more I know about the totality of iNat, the more arcane it seems to me.

But, the main goal for iNaturalist is to ~connect people with nature~. If you find it helps you enjoy nature, you got it right!

This FAQ goes into many very helpful aspects of the iNaturalist program, and I think you will like it.

https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/help

Do NOT worry if things go over your head!!! ( Stuff goes over my head all the time); but iNat does help me appreciate the nature around me, so it’s all good.

13 Likes

Definitely check out some of the other links on the left of this page, too. Especially the community guidelines and the video tutorials. The links at the top can be really fun, too. Explore (check out the filters) can help you see things that other people have seen in your area, and maybe help you set goals for yourself. And explore widely on this forum. There’s lots of good story-telling under Nature Talk, especially.

6 Likes

Hi there, and welcome!

I would suggest you start out learning your local organisms :)
using the app, and safe social distancing, explore whatever you can find right around where you live or work. as people add IDs for you you’ll start to learn to recognize them.