What's in your field kit?

There are already a few great threads on field guides, cameras and audio recorders which focus on specific gear, but I’d love to know more about your whole kit. What gear do you take with you when you spend a day (or an hour, or a morning, or…) in the field making observations? Does what you take depend on where you go? What works for you? What doesn’t work? What’s on your shopping list?

I’m no pro at this by any means, but I’ll start:

• I carry everything in a North Face Jester backpack. It’s a great size as a day pack, but I don’t love it because the bottom isn’t flat (it tips over when you set it down unless it’s really full), it has a chest strap but no waist strap, and the bottle holders aren’t tall enough. I also have a Deuter Futura 32 external frame pack which I don’t use often enough. It’s pretty light and has a great waist strap (with a nifty zip pocket in it for, uh, snacks).
  • I often take photos on a mirrorless Panasonic GH4. It’s a great camera.
  • I often record tracks on a Garmin etrex 20 so that I can georeference photos from the Panasonic. It’s basic but it gets the job done, and is often more reliable than recording tracks on my iPhone.
  • I don’t often take notes but after reading John Muir Laws’ Guide to Nature Drawing and Journaling I kind of want to start. I recently bought a waterproof Rite in the Rain notebook that I’m keen to try out.
  • I’d like to get a good little right-angled ruler or forensic scale card but I haven’t found one yet.
19 Likes

I do a lot of beach trips and stuff with inverts; a pair of strong tweezers are a must for me. They let you handle stuff that may bite/sting, and you can pick up anything you’re unsure about but want to take a closer look. Inexpensive too. I also have a fine-tip pair for more delicate stuff.

11 Likes