Which species do flash photography harm?

Hello! I am an amateur interested in macro photography, and I often use flash to capture clear pictures. However, my principle is to not disturb my photography subjects, and I’m wondering if using flash might cause harm. I mainly photograph arthropods.

7 Likes

I don’t think it is even possible to harm a regular arthropode by flash, their eyes are completely different structurally and in my opinion not having anything eyelid-like their nerves just have to be prepared for any amount of sunlight that can suddenly happen.
upd. Google says you can harm them temporaly by lazor, but why would you do that? So quick camera flashes shouldn’t cause a singnificant harm.

10 Likes

Compared to how many arthropods are killed by a car driving down the road a few miles, flash photography isn’t something to be concerned about–even if it killed them on the spot. Habitat destruction and pesticides are the primary sources of harm. Do things that negate those, and flash away without worry!

9 Likes

Some deep sea fish such as Spotted Ratfish can be killed by a sudden flash of light. If you’re photographing anything other than that, it’s probably fine.

3 Likes

then perhaps also cave dwelling species

4 Likes

If we talk about cave arthropodes, they’re doing just fine with each photo of them being made with flashlight. :D

2 Likes

No, using a flash is perfectly fine, and recommended if you want higher quality photos that can be identified easier. Many flies and other insects are light-sensitive though, so they will fly away once you take a photo.

2 Likes

A bit off topic, but autofocus on a DSLR uses a small laser I believe. Does this affect birds at all?

3 Likes

But it’s infrared, birds shouldn’t even detect it.

2 Likes

Ok, thanks for that. I’ve always wondered…!

1 Like