Secrets to good macro photography

I’m not a photography expert, but over 12 years of trying to photograph tiny bugs, I’ve learned a few lessons that are worth sharing. Feel free to share your own tips and tricks as well!

1. Always use your flash. It’s very difficult to get sharp macro photographs without it.

2. Get a good flash diffuser. This is a lot more important than it sounds. With a good flash diffuser you will get nice even lighting and vibrant colors. Without it you will get blown-out highlights and harsh shadows. Unfortunately, there are no good mass-produced macro flash diffusers (trust me on this). You either have to make your own or get one custom made by Zamir (in the U.S.) or Brendan (in Australia). The custom made ones may seem expensive, but they make a huge difference and are worth the money.

3. Find the aperture sweet spot for your camera and lens combination. You basically want to use the smallest aperture possible (to maximize depth of field) that doesn’t show noticeable diffraction softening. For most standard SLR cameras and macro lenses this will be somewhere around f/11 or f/13. For most four-thirds cameras and macro lenses this will be around f/9 or f/10. Experiment with your aperture to find the optimal setting.

4. Shoot in manual mode (for both your camera and flash). This may be intimidating at first, but once you get the hang of it, you will relish the control it gives you. Plus this will allow you to shoot with fractional flash. Using 1/8th to 1/16th flash will give you more pleasant, even lighting (as it will incorporate some natural light) while still giving you super sharp photos. (If manual mode is too much of a learning curve, use aperture priority mode instead.)

40 Likes

Great tips!