Why do some observation receive plenty of agreeing IDs?

Hello,
I am an amateur learning about the native plant species in my area, and occasionally I post observation of other wildlife.
I noticed that some observation receive 4, even 6 agreeing ID, and I was wondering why would naturalists “over confirm” a non disputed ID ?
It happens especially whith my “most spectacular” "wildlife in the city observation:
https://inaturalist.ca/observations/129461938
https://inaturalist.ca/observations/100311784
Is it a way to mark them for adding them in some project?
I was just wondering about the purpose.

– insist on : I am not complaining about it —

6 Likes

People just like them, but don’t want to add to favourites, some groups like birds or common species generally get more agreeing ids because many experts look through them, even when RG.

15 Likes

no such thing as “over confirming”

11 Likes

Frankly, I think bird and cactus identifiers have too much free time when they are searching for research grade observations and adding unnecessary agreements. Meanwhile, there are honey bees, easily identified to species, sitting at Hymenoptera for 6+ years.

Edit: removed Canada goose link, since it’s now up to 20 IDs :laughing:

15 Likes

Particularly interesting or beautiful observations get more people to click on them, and sometimes those people confirm the other IDs because why not? There’s no harm in that, and every opinion counts.

10 Likes

Sure no harm, as said I was just wondering, as it does also takes time to go through observation for ID them, and some profile have such a high number of IDs that it could not be used as “bookmark”. Marina explanation makes sence to me, they do like it, but not enough to fave it.

4 Likes