Why use iNat over, or in addition to, Seek?

I’m curious to learn why people use iNat over Seek, or for people who use Seek, why upload their Seek observations to iNat? I imagine it is, for some, about wanting to potentially contribute to science, but are there other reasons? Do people feel more certain about the ID if the algorithm suggestion is verified by other people? PS I’m a journalist interested in the sociology of iNat, thanks for any replies!

6 Likes

iNat is a global platfrom, seek is a more gamified personal app that on default just stores the data on your phone (focused on minors, people concerned about their privacy or more casual use of cv), there’re built in activities in it, so some people stick to it while also contributing those observations to iNat. Seek has the same cv as iNat, but has no real people to prove it, nobody else can see your data. iNat observations contribute to the world science, they’re translated to GBIF and other platforms. You will find more by checking previous topics like https://forum.inaturalist.org/t/seek-app-vs-inaturalist/16606. iNat is a social platfrom you upload your data to, Seek is an app that can help you with ids and make your outings more fun.

17 Likes

This may be the case now (unsure), but as of March this year

10 Likes

Then I remember older @tiwane comments about it, that it was updated to current one, but with a delay. Even though for most species there’s no difference, it’s one more reason to use iNat.
To add for social aspect, seeing others’ observations or visiting places with no observations, it’s impossible to do with Seek.

4 Likes