Would Taxonomy Change If All Homo Sapiens Have Neanderthal Ancestry?

I saw this article indicating that all modern humans have Neanderthal DNA: https://www.cnn.com/2020/01/30/africa/africa-neanderthal-dna-scn/index.html

Assuming for the sake of discussion that this is true, I was wondering about the taxonomy of Homo sapiens on iNaturalist:

Obviously, I’m not a scientist–I’m just curious about how that works when another member of the genus is also an ancestor.

3 Likes

No reason really to add hybrids, as we don’t call F500 a hybrid. I won’t call it an ancestor for 2% of genes, it’s a syster taxon that evolved from the same species (or group of close species emerged from heidelbergensis).

5 Likes

i suspect many (most?) species have some DNA from other related species like this, i know it’s true for many plants as well. So i’d say, probably not unless someone was somehow 30-50% neanderthal which no one is. But it shows how fluid ‘species’ are. This comes up with eastern coyotes a lot as they are part wolf and possibly part dog, but the average eastern coyote has way more wolf dna than the average human has neanderthal DNA

8 Likes

As I recall from anthropology classes years ago, neanderthalensis was once considered a subspecies of Homo sapiens rather than a separate species. Perhaps if enough evidence arises that early sapiens and neanderthals were interbreeding to a greater degree than what current evidence indicates, that taxonomic arrangement would gain favor again. But based on the currently-recognized amount of introgression detected, the past interbreeding of the two forms might not be enough to consider any revision of the taxonomy. As mentioned above, canids exhibit a lot more gene flow between species and although it makes species IDs tricky in some cases, it’s not likely to result in lumping of the various species of Canis. There’s a lot more gene flow across “good” species than what we used to think.

5 Likes