You know you're seriously into iNat when

I’ve had some funny iNat-related experiences and it made me laugh to think of how many positive, and often quite funny effects my usage has had on my life. Go ahead and finish the topic title sentence with your own endings. Here are some of mine to start:

You know you’re seriously into iNat when

…you have more than one dream in a week where seemingly unrelated to the rest of a serious dream, you encounter an insect and try to ID it wondering, “who can I tag in for help with beetles?” Then you wake up and laugh out loud but also think, "what was that insect I wish I could’ve taken a photo! " (what a fun Freudian/Jungian puzzle, huh?)

…you find yourself tuning out of conversations when you see a plant, mold, dead windowsill-insect, road-killed mammal, herp etc. and immediately locate your camera forgetting about relevant social norms.

…you somehow manage to work iNat into almost every conversation with people, including strangers and sometimes inappropriately at funerals or in other off-topic social situations. You don’t mind when peoples’ eyes glaze over as you explain the beauty of the intricacy of the DQA section and the fun of community ID! You are an iNat/ citizen science evangelist.

…you pull over to document road kill. You always noticed such things and maybe kept notes but now compulsively pull your car over when safe to document the species for “Science!”

…mornings begin and evenings end with a check-in on the website and also the forum. It’s also an escape from whatever other thing you’d rather not be doing during the day.

…you no longer run away from spiders. You see just how close you can get to properly document even if you are still scared/ twitching/nauseated etc. because…“science!”

…you are more than a little excited to start to get the hang of observation fields

…you volunteer to moderate the forum! :wink:

Hope you have some laughs, folks.

172 Likes