Access to Research Publications without Institutional Credentials?

I spend a great deal of my time studying spiders and insects—in the field, through the photographic and descriptive information provided on iNaturalist and other sites, collaborating with professionals and academics, and via publications and data I can access through websites like the World Spider Catalog. But, ultimately, I am a citizen scientist, and I keep coming up against roadblocks with articles I find or that are shared with me. I don’t work for a research institution, so accessing articles via ResearchGate or BioOne, for instance, isn’t possible. I know there is usually a way to request articles individually from the authors, but it’s unknown if and when a response will be received.

Does anyone have any advice for someone who is constantly researching but not a researcher? :thinking:

3 Likes

Your local public library may provide electronic access to many journals.

Or you can just use Sci-Hub which is I think what most people in this situation do: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sci-Hub

11 Likes

If no pdf version is available on ResearchGate, Google Scholar, etc, write a short email directly to the corresponding author. A lot of scientists also use Twitter, so that may be another way of connecting with the authors or with someone with access.

6 Likes

What @ten_salamanders said. Scientists love to have people interested in their research and I’ve never had anyone express even a hint of annoyance at being asked. Just mention you don’t have institutional access and that you’ve tried Googling for PDF versions of the article already.

2 Likes

I would just use sci-hub. I have institutional access to most articles and still use sci-hub almost everyday. It is faster and just works well.

6 Likes

Thanks, @reuvenm @ten_salamanders @colinpurrington @cthawley for the tips! This is why I love “hanging around” with smart people! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

3 Likes