Advice on Wildlife Observation Hide

I am planning on setting up a semi-permanent wildlife observation hide (shelter) on the northwest-north-facing rim of a gorge in a semi-arid landscape. about 20 feet leading up to the rim are flat and are covered with lushly shade, mature pine, and the steep descent into the gorge is prickly bushes, of the tumbleweed and perennial types, interspersed with old dead-fall wood felled by snowstorms.
What is needed is to build a very light hide, maybe a tarp sheltered corner among the pines, partly to keep curious humans from disturbing close approaches by very shy predators - desert wolves, jackals, foxes. These animals and raptors have gotten used to my presence, but maintain infrequent curiosity approaches, lacking reinforcement by my short time spent in that environment. The approach distance is just too far for any photography (I am not an expert zoom photographer).
Maybe I need a camo tarp for extended stay in that spot? Would the tarp need any special pattern, considering the vegetation, or the animals? Maybe two tarps - one stealth-oriented towards humans, and one with observation holes toward animals?
Thoughts on expedient materials?
thanks
thanks

Tarps are noisy, rip with the wind, and deteriorate in the sun. I’d use camo netting. But even better in a natural area may be to build a blind using natural materials like branches with dead leaves. You may have to re-build it often, but aren’t adding plastics to the environment.

7 Likes

My first question is: are you planning on setting up on private property or public land?
If you’re planning on public land use, you need to contact the land authority. In Michigan we have Department of Natural Resources and US Forest Service. They have rules on hides, blinds and stands.
Next question is expected weather. It’s cool to sit inside or under cover in some weather, but miserable if it takes a turn. And the wind direction is a huge factor for carrying your scent.