Best ID references for single-celled organisms?

Hi all,
I’m lucky enough to have a compound microscope at home and I am dabbling with the idea of taking photos of single-celled organisms I might find in a drop of local pondwater, for example, and trying to ID them and post them to iNat as well. I have no real experience in this area and I’m expecting to encounter a cool but confusing array of interesting creatures! :) In preparation, I decided to purchase the surprisingly inexpensive two-volume “Illustrated Guide to the Protozoa, Second Edition”, but I have nothing at all that covers autotrophs and I’m not convinced the guide above is going to be easy to use.

Can folks please recommend their favorite and most useful web or book references for identifying single-celled organisms in freshwater or elsewhere? Ideally something with keys and that is copiously illustrated? I am in western North America.

Thanks!
Ken

2 Likes

You might consider seeing if you can get hold of the folks who run the Journey to the Microcosmos channel on Youtube and see what they recommend.

2 Likes

Thanks! What a cool series of videos! Those will help give me an overview of what I might see, I think, but I’m not sure how to ask a question of those folks on Youtube - seems like it’s a hugely popular channel and I doubt any comment I make will be replied to personally?

There are quite a few people on inat interested in single celled organisms. To get started, you can just upload your observations and leave at State of matter: Life and then add it to the Microscopy project and one of them might find it and give you an ID. The computer vision model can even occasionally identify things now. The microscopy project page also lists a bunch of references. I would add Freshwater Algae of North America, Ecology and Classification to the list as one of my favorites.

https://www.inaturalist.org/projects/microscopy

3 Likes