Biodiversity on Farms

Hello All,

My name is Andrea Hazzard, and I’m speaking on behalf of Terra Sustaina and Hazzard Free Farm. I’m a grain farmer and miller, as well as a seed-saver and breeder. Prior to farming I worked in Native Restoration.

A while back I created a group called Biodiversity on Farms and a project called Biodiversity at Hazzard Free Farm.

What I’m interested in doing is creating a biodiversity index, and then creating marketplace visibility for this highly important farm metric. I believe we need to accomplish carbon solutions at the local level, and that this can be more effective than large international initiatives.

I’ve been talking about using your platform to do this in our farmer caucus

In my opinion the “carbon market” is already rife with greenwashing, and ESG climate disclosures are a start but again, neither are stand alone solutions. Creating transparent data that correlates to ecological metrics allows us to change the marketplace conversation to something useful. Imagine farms that can prove they are a hub of Biodiversity! Now that, is lasting change.

I am in search of models for a better and more fair market place - if you know of any resources that will help me out I encourage you to share!
I would love to hear your thoughts on the matter. Is there “space” here for such an undertaking? Would you be willing to promote it? I feel very strongly that we are in a moment where people are very aware of Nature and really embracing it. And that there are or could be a lot of facets… all through the rural and agricultural lens.

Biodiversity within agriculture landscapes
Hunting Lands
Ag conservation projects
Citizen science
A child parent grandparent hobby
A public verification tool for everybody