Comparing county records to other databases

First time posting here!

I am involved with a project to hunt for plant taxa in my county (Martin, Florida) that are not yet represented in the herbarium database at USF.

Is there a way to create a simple list of plant records from iNat? I have used the filters for plants in my county, but it only seems to show an un-sorted display of the records. I need a simple list with scientific names that I can copy into a spreadsheet and compare to other databases.

Thanks for any tips! I’m still learning all iNat has to offer.

3 Likes

You could use GBIF or the data export tool to get your data of choice: https://www.inaturalist.org/pages/how+can+i+use+it

You can then bring that data into Excel or whatever other program you want to work with it in.

1 Like

First, if you just want to see what’s there, when you use the Explore tab and filter for plants, there’s a tab that says Species – that’ll show just the species and # of obs. for each one. Unfortunately, I don’t know how to download in that format.

If you go to the county checklist page, https://www.inaturalist.org/check_lists/4844-Martin-Check-List , then you’ll see a checklist for the county. If you click on the green Plants bar on the right, it’ll filter out just the plants. You can download the checklist (in alphabetical or taxonomic format), but I suspect you’ll get the whole thing, rather than just the plants. Of course, from there it’s not hard to get rid of everything you don’t want.

One caveat – the checklist might not be complete.

2 Likes

it’s not completely clear, but it sounds like you want a list of plants, not a list of plant observations.